Brief
 
Controlled centers and regional disembarkation platforms: towards a breakthrough in solidarity between Member States?
Until then, the European debates on solidarity between member states in the distribution of migrants had focused on persons already admitted to the territory of a member state. On the occasion of the Aquarius and Lifeline cases in particular, Italy and Malta have closed or threatened to close their ports on the landing of migrants rescued at sea, regardless of the health and safety situation on board.
|   06/08/2018             |   Corinne Balleix             |   Law and institutions
Brief

The June 2018 European Council, which was unable to finalize the revision of the Common European Asylum System (CEAS), sought to revive a dynamic of cooperation in the landing of people rescued at sea. Council and the Commission to consider without delay the concept of regional landing platforms, in close cooperation with the relevant third countries, as well as UNHCR and IOM “, as well as” controlled centers established in Member States “aimed at both “in full respect of international law” to “distinguish between irregular migrants, who will be returned, persons in need of international protection, to whom the principle of solidarity “apply” “on a voluntary basis”. The European Commission presented on July 24 two non-papers aimed at developing the concepts of “regional disembarkation platforms” and “controlled centers“, which will be discussed in the weeks and months to come.

In this policy brief, Corinne Balleix, in charge of the European asylum and immigration policy at the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, explains the emergence of these concepts in European debates: what are they made of and will be able to they help to respond to the European political crisis around migration issues?

Only in French

Décryptage
 
Centres contrôlés et plateformes régionales de débarquement : vers une percée dans la solidarité entre États membres ?
Jusque-là, les débats européens relatifs à la solidarité entre États membres dans la répartition des migrants avaient porté sur des personnes déjà accueillies sur le territoire d’un État membre. À l’occasion notamment des affaires de l’Aquarius et du Lifeline, l’Italie et Malte ont pourtant fermé ou menacé de fermer leurs ports au débarquement de migrants secourus en mer, quelle que soit la situation sanitaire et de sécurité à bord.
|   06/08/2018             |   Corinne Balleix             |   Droit et institutions
Décryptage

Le Conseil européen de juin 2018, qui n’a pu finaliser la révision du Régime d’asile européen commun (RAEC), a cherché à relancer une dynamique de coopération en matière de débarquement de personnes secourues en mer. Il invite en effet « le Conseil et la Commission à examiner sans tarder le concept de plateformes régionales de débarquement, en coopération étroite avec les pays tiers concernés ainsi que le HCR et l’OIM » , de même que des « centres contrôlés établis dans des États membres » visant l’un et l’autre, « dans le plein respect du droit international » à « distinguer les migrants en situation irrégulière, qui feront l’objet d’un retour, des personnes ayant besoin d’une protection internationale, auxquelles le principe de solidarité s’appliquerait » « sur une base volontaire ». La Commission européenne a présenté le 24 juillet deux non-papiers visant à développer les concepts de « plateformes régionales de débarquement » et de « centres contrôlés », qui feront l’objet de discussions dans les semaines et les mois à venir.

Dans ce décryptage, Corinne Balleix, chargée de la politique européenne d’asile et d’immigration au ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, explique l’émergence de ces concepts dans les débats européens : de quoi sont-ils faits et pourront-ils contribuer à répondre à la crise politique européenne autour des questions migratoires ?