Policy paper 221
 
How Can Europe Repair Breaches of the Rule of Law?
With the deterioration of the rule of law, particularly in Poland and Hungary, the EU must deal with a new and hitherto inconceivable situation, as the foundations of European governance are being shaken from the inside by at least two Member States. Against this backdrop, it is very difficult for the EU to take action because the legislative tools at its disposal have proven to be poorly suited.
|   04/04/2018             |   Martin Michelot             |   Law and institutions
Policy paper

The Commission’s decision of December 2017 to trigger the first phase of Article 7 of the TEU, which could ultimately deprive Poland of its voting rights within the EU Council, has for example turned out to be ineffective in the short term, as the punitive phase requires a unanimous decision of the Council and Warsaw can rely on a veto from Hungary.
To overcome these difficulties, the idea of linking compliance with the rule of law and the delivery of European structural funds in the next Multiannual Financial Framework has been put forward by many Heads of State and European commissioners. Such a suspension comes with political risks and its effectiveness raises questions. It does, however, convey the need to develop a range of resources which are broader, more sophisticated and fiercer than Article 7.
The solution can’t come only from the European Commission or the Council, but rather from other institutions such as the European Court of Justice. Civil society organisations in these countries must also be supported. The roles of the Agency for fundamental rights and the Venice Commission are also to be incorporated. All these instruments must be used to prevent these Member States from going further with reforms which run counter to the rule of law. The Commission and Member States concerned must also now be clear on the fact that these measures are intended to heighten their deterrent effect.

Policy Paper 221
 
Quelle réponse européenne aux défaillances de l’état de droit ?
Avec la dégradation de l’état de droit, en particulier en Pologne et en Hongrie, l’UE doit faire face à une situation nouvelle et inimaginable jusqu’ici, puisque les fondations de la gouvernance européenne se voient minées de l’intérieur par au moins deux États de l’UE. Dans ce contexte, il est très complexe pour l’UE d’agir car les outils législatifs à sa disposition s’avèrent peu adaptés.
|   04/04/2018             |   Martin Michelot             |   Droit et institutions
Policy Paper

La décision de la Commission d’enclencher en décembre 2017 la première phase de l’Article 7 du TUE, qui pourrait in fine priver la Pologne de ses droits de vote au Conseil de l’UE, se révèle par exemple inefficace dans le court terme, la phase punitive requérant l’unanimité au sein du Conseil, où Varsovie est assurée du veto de la Hongrie.
Face à cela, l’idée de lier le respect de l’état de droit à l’obtention des fonds structurels européens dans le prochain cadre pluriannuel financier a été mise en avant par plusieurs chefs d’État et commissaires européens. Une telle suspension ne serait pas sans risque politique et son efficacité pose question mais elle traduit le besoin de développer une gamme d’outils plus étendus, plus sophistiqués et plus mordants que l’Article 7.
La solution ne doit pas venir seulement de la Commission européenne ni du Conseil, mais d’autres institutions, notamment de la Cour européenne de Justice. Les organisations de la société civile dans ces pays sont aussi des relais à appuyer. Les rôles de l’Agence des droits fondamentaux et de la Commission de Venise sont à intégrer. Tous ces instruments doivent pouvoir servir à faire renoncer ces pays à aller plus loin dans d’éventuelles réformes contraires à l’état de droit. La Commission et les États de l’UE intéressés doivent aussi dorénavant être clairs sur le fait que ces mesures ont vocation à être utilisées afin de renforcer leur effet dissuasif.