Brief
 
For a Regional Solidarity Policy After 2020
The post-2020 budget debate is at last beginning, free of the long-standing muddled negotiations on the Brexit terms and the laborious formation of the new German government. The Commission is attempting to quicken the pace in order to obtain an agreement on the financial outlook under the current term of office. As regards the cohesion policy, despite it demonstrating positive results, its weight in the European budget, accounting for almost one third, makes it a priority target.
|   30/03/2018             |   Marjorie Jouen             |   Economics and finance
Brief

The Commission recently presented a caricatural mapping of a possible reduction in its endowment. With an equal budget (€370 billion), the policy would remain unchanged while by cutting the budget by 25% (€275 billion), only the least developed regions and “cohesion countries” (with a per capita GDP less than 90% of the EU-28 average) would receive funding. A budget cut by 33% (€245 billion) would mean that “cohesion countries” would be the only recipients. Such a dramatization of the issue is both rather unrealistic, as it would be difficult to find a single Member State in favour of such sweeping cuts, and disturbing as it equates the regional policy to a financial window, a role it has never played.
According to Marjorie Jouen, adviser at the Jacques Delors Institute, the time has probably come to focus on what is important and to agree on the four basic elements of the regional solidarity policy that the EU will require in the years after 2020.

Décryptage
 
Pour une politique de solidarité territoriale post-2020
Le débat budgétaire post-2020 s’engage enfin, débarrassé d’une négociation longtemps confuse sur les termes du Brexit et de la laborieuse formation du nouveau gouvernement allemand. La Commission tente de forcer l’allure pour obtenir un accord sur les perspectives financières sous la présente mandature. Pour ce qui est de la politique de cohésion, bien qu’associée à des résultats positifs, son poids dans le budget européen, près d’un tiers, en fait une cible prioritaire.
|   30/03/2018             |   Marjorie Jouen             |   Economie et finance
Décryptage

La Commission a présenté récemment une représentation cartographique caricaturale d’une éventuelle réduction de sa dotation. À budget égal (370 milliards d’euros), la politique resterait inchangée ; à budget réduit de 25% (275 milliards d’euros), seules les régions les moins développées et les « pays de la cohésion » (avec un PIB/habitant national inférieur à 90% de la moyenne des 28) recevraient des financements ; à budget diminué de 33% (245 milliards d’euros), les « pays de la cohésion » seraient les seuls bénéficiaires. Cette dramatisation de l’enjeu est à la fois peu réaliste, car on peine à identifier un seul État favorable à une telle coupe à la hache, et peu flatteuse car elle réduit la politique régionale à un guichet financier, ce qu’elle n’a jamais été.
Dans ce décryptage, Marjorie Jouen, conseillère à l’Institut Jacques Delors, affirme que le temps est probablement venu de se concentrer sur l’essentiel et de s’accorder sur les quatre éléments fondamentaux de la politique de solidarité territoriale dont l’UE aura besoin dans les années 2020.