Blog post
 

Brexit : the worst is yet to come!

Blogpost based on an oped published in Le Monde, 31 January 2019 by Elvire Fabry, Senior Research Fellow, Jacques Delors Institute. Translation from Frecnh by Barbara Banks.

|   28/02/2020             |   Elvire Fabry             |   Europe in the world
Blog post

It will have taken three and a half years and a major political crisis in Britain to finally make the UK’s exit from the European Union official. Yet 31 January 2020 only marks the UK’s political departure: from that date on, it no longer takes part in decisions made on a European level. The country’s legal departure still lies ahead and will only fully come into force after the unravelling of some 750 agreements which connect it with the European bloc. The withdrawal agreement only guarantees citizens’ rights, peace in Ireland and the settlement of financial commitments. For the rest, just as planes cannot be stopped in mid-air, we cannot be satisfied with a legal vacuum. Beyond the stakes of maximum economic cost with a return to border checks and customs duties negotiated with the WTO, it is the daily lives of British citizens and many Europeans that will be disrupted by the uncertainties surrounding the blank slate in many areas (data transfers, energy, transportation, security, fisheries, etc.).

Negotiators are facing a colossal and unfeasible task in the eleven-month transition period which Boris Johnson intends to stick to, with the final withdrawal scheduled for the end of the year. It will not be long before the question of extending the transition period will be raised again. In the meantime, negotiators are drawing up priority-setting and sequencing strategies to maintain the links between the different phases. Yet for now, the most decisive challenge of this negotiation must be fully defined: the need to guarantee the conditions for equal competition between the United Kingdom and the European Union (the famous level playing field), an absolute prerequisite for maintaining open trade.

Admittedly, Europeans intend to uphold the closest possible bilateral relationship, notably to preserve a good security and defence cooperation. However, there is a much more existential challenge for the EU-27: to preserve the integrity of the “regulatory ecosystem” which forms the basis of the Single Market. During the withdrawal negotiations, Europeans succeeded in “constitutionalising” the indivisibility of the four freedoms of movement (people, goods, services and capital). At the moment, the priority is to establish that rules on social or environmental issues, or on the restriction of state support, cannot be separated and considered as optional without giving rise to regulatory dumping and a distortion of competition.

To date, the challenge is a major negotiation priority for the European Commission, against a backdrop of increasing competitive distortions caused by emerging economies and new economic powers such as China. By maintaining a lower level of regulation, the latter are conducting regulatory dumping on European companies in particular. While, in this respect, Europeans are tackling Chinese state support or are beginning to apply border adjustment mechanisms to prevent carbon leakage, as regards Brexit, they can only keep an eye on Boris Johnson’s aspirations towards regulatory divergence.

Negotiators are less willing to make concessions to their long-standing British partner as the final agreement will set precedents for other third countries. For the trade component alone, the European Union must comply with the “most favoured nation” clause which applies to most preferential agreements that it has signed worldwide and which provides that any commercial advantage granted to one of these countries must be extended to the other countries with which it has an agreement.

On 31 January 2020, Brexit therefore became a tangible reality, which celebrates taking back control of full sovereignty without a clear strategy of commitment on the global economic stage. We are now waiting for the British government to clarify its intentions regarding regulatory autonomy.

Boris Johnson enjoys great political leeway as, in addition to the clear majority he obtained in the House of Commons last December, he made sure that the revised withdrawal agreement would limit the powers of parliamentary scrutiny over the future negotiations.

He will likely first attempt to call for a distancing from European regulations in a differentiated approach as the political cost of divergence from European social and environmental standards would be too great for the Conservative Party. If he were to focus on state support, this is where the risk of distortion is the greatest and Europeans’ tolerance the weakest. We would then witness the stark reality of bilateral confrontation.

The deep desire of the British is probably even more to be able to exercise their newfound regulatory independence without necessarily wanting to diverge from European regulations, which is like trying to square the circle.

We should not rule out the possibility that, like the way he did for the general elections, Johnson may ultimately use the pressure of a short transition period and a risk of no deal at the end of 2020, to weigh in on regulatory alignment. If such a scenario were to occur, it would be more due to Brexit fatigue rather than British public opinion being realistic about the impacts of Brexit’s economic cost.

As we have seen, on one hand we have the protection of the Single Market and the legal framework and on the other taking back control and the desire to undertake a political negotiation. The power relationship has only just begun and the worst is yet to come.

Blog post

Brexit : le plus dur est à venir !

Blogpost tiré d’une tribune parue dans Le Monde le 31 janvier 2019, par Elvire Fabry, Politologue, Institut Jacques Delors

Il aura fallu trois ans et demi et une profonde crise politique britannique pour parvenir à formaliser la sortie du Royaume-Uni de l’Union européenne. Mais le 31 janvier 2020 ne marque que la sortie politique du Royaume-Uni : désormais il ne participe plus aux décisions des Européens. Reste à opérer la sortie juridique qui ne sera pleinement effective qu’après le dé-tricotage des quelques 750 accords qui unissent le pays au bloc européen. L’accord de retrait ne garantit que les droits des citoyens, la paix en Irlande et le règlement des engagements financiers. Pour le reste, de même qu’on n’arrête pas les avions en plein vol, on ne peut se contenter d’un vide juridique. Au-delà de l’enjeu d’un coût économique maximum avec un retour des contrôles aux frontières et des droits de douanes négociés à l’OMC, c’est la vie quotidienne des Britanniques et de nombreux Européens qui serait bouleversée par l’incertitude d’une page blanche dans de multiples domaines (transferts de données, énergie, transports, sécurité, pêche, …).

La tâche des négociateurs est colossale et infaisable dans le délai de onze mois de transition auquel Boris Johnson entend se tenir d’ici fin 2020. La question d’une extension de la transition ne tardera pas à revenir sur la table. En attendant les négociateurs échafaudent des stratégies de hiérarchisation des priorités et de séquençage qui maintiendraient des liens entre les différents chapitres. Mais pour l’heure, il faut d’abord cerner l’enjeu le plus déterminant de cette négociation : le besoin de garantir des conditions de concurrence égale entre le Royaume-Uni et l’Union européenne (le fameux level playing field), condition essentielle d’un maintien d’échanges commerciaux ouverts.

Certes, les Européens entendent garder une relation bilatérale la plus étroite possible y compris pour maintenir une forte coopération en matière de sécurité et de défense. Mais il y a un enjeu bien plus existentiel pour les Vingt-Sept : préserver l’intégrité de « l’écosystème réglementaire » sur lequel repose le Marché unique. Pendant les négociations de retrait, les Européens sont parvenus à « constitutionnaliser » l’indivisibilité des quatre libertés de circulation (personnes, biens, services et capitaux). À présent, il s’agit de faire valoir que ni les règles en matière sociale, ni en matière environnementale ou encore qui celles qui concernent la limitation des aides d’֧État, ne peuvent être dissociées et considérées comme optionnelles sans créer un dumping réglementaire et une distorsion de concurrence.

À présent, l’enjeu figure d’autant plus haut dans les priorités de négociation de la Commission européenne que les distorsions de concurrence provoquées par les économies émergentes et les nouvelles puissances économiques comme la Chine, ne cessent de s’accroître : en maintenant un niveau de réglementation plus faible, ces dernières exercent notamment un dumping réglementaire sur les entreprises européennes. Alors que sur ce front, les Européens s’en prennent aux aides d’État chinoises ou entreprennent d’appliquer une mesure d’ajustement aux frontières pour éviter les fuites de carbones, sur le front du Brexit ils ne peuvent que se montrer vigilants à l’égard des velléités de divergence réglementaire affichées par Boris Johnson.

Les négociateurs sont d’autant moins disposés à faire des concessions au partenaire historique britannique que l’accord final créera une jurisprudence pour les autres pays tiers. Pour le seul volet commercial, l’Union européenne sera tenue de respecter la clause de la « nation la plus favorisée » qui s’applique à la plupart des accords préférentiels qu’elle a signé à travers le monde et qui stipule que tout avantage commercial accordé à l’un de ces pays devra être étendu aux autres pays avec lesquels elle a un accord.

Le 31 janvier 2020 a donc mis un terme au Brexit « hors sol », celui qui célèbre le take back control d’une souveraineté pleine et entière sans stratégie claire d’engagement sur la scène économique mondiale. On attend dorénavant que le gouvernement britannique clarifie ses intentions en matière d’autonomie réglementaire.

Boris Johnson bénéficie d’une marge de manœuvre politique d’autant plus grande qu’en plus de la large majorité qu’il a obtenue à la Chambre des Communes en décembre dernier, il s’est assuré que la révision de l’accord de retrait lui permette de limiter le pouvoir de contrôle des parlementaires sur l’évolution des négociations.

Il tentera sans doute d’abord d’appeler à s’éloigner des réglementations européennes de manière différenciée car le coût politique d’une divergence des normes sociales et environnementales européennes serait trop important pour le parti conservateur. S’il devait ainsi se concentrer sur les aides d’État, c’est pourtant là que le risque de distorsion est le plus grand et la tolérance des Européens la plus faible. On entrerait alors dans le dur de la confrontation bilatérale.

Le désir profond des Britanniques est sans doute plus encore de pouvoir exercer leur nouvelle autonomie réglementaire sans nécessairement vouloir diverger des réglementations européennes, ce qui est comme résoudre la quadrature du cercle.

Il ne faut pas exclure in fine que Johnson puisse, à nouveau comme pour les élections, utiliser la pression d’une transition courte avec un risque de no deal fin 2020 pour mettre dans la balance un alignement réglementaire. Si un tel scénario devait arriver, ce serait néanmoins encore sans doute par fatigue du Brexit plutôt que par réalisme de l’opinion publique britannique sur l’impact du coût économique du Brexit.

On le voit, entre d’un côté la défense du Marché unique et du cadre juridique et de l’autre le take back control et la volonté d’engager une négociation politique, le rapport de force ne fait que s’engager et le plus dur est à venir.

Brexit