Brief 201012
 

Framing the state aid debate for the post-covid era the Brexit challenge

By Elvire Fabry, Senior research fellow, Jacques Delors Institute, Paris.
Translation from French: Nicolas Köhler-Suzuki

|   12/10/2020             |   Elvire Fabry             |   Europe in the world
Brief
Introduction

The European Union is determined to obtain guarantees for fair competition in the Brexit negotiations, since the UK is not just any third country. The weight of its economy, geographical proximity and deep integration into the single market make it an unusual partner. The European market could therefore be significantly distorted if the British government decides to adopt an interventionist and discretionary state aid policy at the end of the transition period. Indeed, this is at the very heart of the negotiations.

But here is a twist: even though the conclusion of an agreement is suspended to obtain strict commitments on public subsidies, pandemic response requires significant financial support from the state. While European rules on state aid are generally strict, in March 2020 the European Commission suspended existing limits, on a temporary basis, to support the economy in the face of the pandemic. All over the world, recovery plans are pouring out unprecedented volumes of state aid. How does this square with the European agenda for a level playing field, which aims to establish fairer conditions of competition with trading partners, particularly for subsidies?

While the debate around stronger multilateral subsidy rules is closely linked to the evolving conflict between the United States and China, bilateral commitments to reduce subsidies are still either limited or non-existent. But the prospect of extensive public aid that causes significant distortions for competition will characterise the post-Covid era. The EU must leverage the attractiveness of the single market to compel its partners towards commitments on state aid, bilaterally or unilaterally, by speeding up the adoption of the instrument to control foreign subsidies. It is also crucial for future relations with the United Kingdom.

 ▪▪▪

Décryptage 201012
 

Encadrer les aides d’État à l’ère post-COVID
le test du Brexit

Par Elvire Fabry, Chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors Paris

|   12/10/2020             |   Elvire Fabry             |   Europe dans le monde
Décryptage
Introduction 

Dans les négociations post-Brexit, l’Union européenne est déterminée à obtenir des garanties de concurrence loyale. Le Royaume-Uni n’est pas n’importe quel pays tiers. Le poids de son économie, sa proximité géographique et sa forte intégration au Marché unique en font un partenaire atypique qui pourrait avoir un effet de distorsion important sur le marché européen si le gouvernement britannique décidait d’adopter une politique d’aides d’État très interventionniste et discrétionnaire à l’issue de la période de transition. Il s’agit du point névralgique des négociations.

Mais comment expliquer que l’on suspende la conclusion d’un accord à des garanties d’encadrement stricte des subventions publiques alors que le nouveau contexte post-Covid exige bien plus de soutien financier de l’État ? Alors que les règles européennes sur les aides d’États sont connues pour être strictes, dès mars 2020, la Commission européenne en a suspendu la limitation, à titre temporaire, pour soutenir l’économie face à la pandémie. Partout dans le monde, les plans de relance font pleuvoir des volumes sans  précédent d’aides d’État. Comment alors poursuivre l’agenda européen de level playing field qui vise à établir des conditions de concurrence plus équitables avec les partenaires commerciaux, notamment en termes de subventions ?

Alors que le renforcement des règles multilatérales encadrant les subventions est étroitement lié à l’évolution de la confrontation des États-Unis et de la Chine, les engagements bilatéraux sur la réduction des subventions sont encore très limités, voire inexistants. Mais l’anticipation d’une amplification des distorsions de concurrence qui va caractériser la nouvelle ère post-Covid, sous l’effet de ces aides publiques massives, appelle à tirer parti de l’attractivité du Marché unique pour contraindre les partenaires à prendre des engagements sur les aides d’État, que ce soit au niveau bilatéral ou par la voie unilatérale – en accélérant l’adoption de l’instrument de contrôle des subventions étrangères, qui est également déterminant pour les futures relations avec le Royaume-Uni. ▪▪▪