Policy paper 274

From words to action

Analysing possible scenarios and political dynamics in the process of disbursing the European Recovery and Resilience Facility funds

| 01/02/2022

Introduction

If 2021 will be remembered as the year in which the EU Recovery and Resilience Facility (RRF) was set in motion, 2022 will be the first full year of implementation of this programme, which is the centrepiece of “NextGenerationEU” (NGEU). At the moment of writing five countries have already sent their first RRF payment requests to the Commission but the volume of RRF payments will significantly increase in the coming months and the rhythm will not stop until the end of 2026. Unlike the 13% pre-financing paid in 2021, payments will now be conditioned upon fulfilment of “milestones” and “targets” reflecting intermediary and final steps towards the achievement of the objectives of the plan.

The RRF disbursements will take place whilst the idea of extending NGEU, or using it as a blueprint for future EU investment instruments, is gaining weight in the context of broader debates on the reform of the EU’s fiscal framework. Against this backdrop, the question of whether or not the RRF is a “success” will become politically relevant. Yet, how to judge this success at year+1 is not evident. The first evaluation is expected for 2024. In the meantime, the degree of fulfilment of milestones and targets and the pace and rhythm of payments will constitute the most important indicators of good or bad performance.

This paper examines the procedure for the disbursement of RRF funds. Its aim is to discuss possible scenarios and political dynamics that may arise when validating the fulfilment of milestones and targets, submitting payment requests and authorising RRF disbursements. The paper starts with a general discussion on conditionality and, particularly, the main factors to take into account when designing a performance-based conditionality regime. Section two then takes a closer look at the specificities of the RRF performance regime, distinguishing between three phases: (1) the definition of performance objectives (called “milestones” and “targets” in the case of the RRF), (2) the rules and procedures to submit payment requests, and (3) the rules and procedures for the approval and suspension of payments. The description of general rules, procedures and common patterns is complemented with specific examples drawn from the four largest National Recovery and Resilience Plans (NRRPs); that is, those of France, Greece, Italy and Spain. The paper then speculates on the possible dynamics and scenarios that may arise when the machinery of RRF disbursement will work at full speed. It concludes with some general reflections on the nature of the RRF conditionality regime.

Read more →


Recommended citation:
Rubio E. 2022. “From words to action: Analysing possible scenarios and political dynamics in the process of disbursing the European Recovery and Resilience Facility funds ”, Policy paper, Jacques Delors Institute, February 2022.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Policy Paper 274

Passer des mots aux actes

Analyse des scénarios et des dynamiques politiques possibles lors du décaissement des fonds de la Facilité européenne pour la relance et la résilience

| 01/02/2022

Introduction

Alors que l’année 2021 aura marqué le lancement de la Facilité pour la relance et la résilience (FRR) de l’Union européenne (UE), 2022 sera la première année complète de mise en œuvre de ce programme inscrit au cœur du plan de relance européen NextGenerationEU (NGEU). Au moment de la rédaction de ce papier, seulement cinq pays ont envoyé à la Commission leur première demande de paiement dans le cadre de la FRR, mais le volume de ces demandes de paiements risque d’augmenter considérablement dans les mois à venir et ne cessera d’ailleurs de s’accélérer jusqu’à fin 2026. Contrairement au préfinancement de 13 % versé en 2021, les paiements seront désormais conditionnés à la réalisation de « jalons» et de « cibles » qui concrétiseront les différentes étapes et objectifs du plan.

Les décaissements des fonds de la FRR auront lieu alors que l’idée d’étendre le NGEU, ou de l’utiliser comme modèle pour des futurs instruments d’investissement de l’UE, gagne du terrain dans les débats sur la réforme du cadre budgétaire de l’UE. Dans ce contexte, la question de savoir si la FRR est un « succès » ou non va gagner en importance d’un point de vue politique. Mais mesurer le succès de la FRR, alors que le programme fête seulement son premier anniversaire, est loin d’être facile. La première évaluation est prévue pour 2024. D’ici là, la réalisation des jalons et des cibles ainsi que le rythme des paiements constitueront les principaux indicateurs à même d’évaluer la performance de la FRR.

Ce papier examine la procédure de décaissement des fonds de la FRR. L’objectif est d’analyser les scénarios et les dynamiques politiques qui peuvent survenir dans le cadre de la validation des jalons et des cibles, de la soumission de demandes de paiement et de l’autorisation des décaissements de la FRR. Le papier commence par une discussion sur la conditionnalité et les principaux facteurs à prendre en compte lors de l’élaboration d’un régime de conditionnalité basé sur la performance. Dans un second temps, nous nous penchons sur les spécificités du régime de performance de la FRR, en distinguant trois phases : (1) la définition des objectifs de performance (nommés « jalons » et « cibles » dans le cas de la FRR), (2) les règles et procédures de demande de paiement, et (3) les règles et procédures d’approbation et de suspension des paiements. La description des règles générales, procédures et modèles communs est accompagnée d’exemples précis tirés de quatre plans nationaux de relance et de résilience (PNRR), à savoir ceux de la France, de la Grèce, de l’Italie et de l’Espagne. Nous nous interrogerons ensuite sur les dynamiques et scénarios possibles dès lors que la machine de décaissement des fonds de la FRR fonctionnera à plein régime. Enfin, nous terminerons par quelques réflexions sur la nature du régime de conditionnalité de la FRR.

Lire la suite →


Citer cet article:
Rubio E. 2022. «Passer des mots aux actes. Analyse des scénarios et des dynamiques politiques possibles lors du décaissement des fonds de la Facilité européenne pour la relance et la résilience», Policy paper, Jacques Delors Institute, février 2022.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more