Blog post

Newsletter June 2022

War of independence

| 03/06/2022

Editorial Read more →

For almost a hundred days, the Ukrainians have been engaged in a fight to the death for the survival of their country. The European Union is supporting them by sending arms, including heavy weapons, by taking in millions of displaced persons, by providing economic and financial assistance, by supporting criminal investigations and by imposing sanctions on the aggressor, Vladimir Putin’s regime, as never before. In so doing, the EU-27 are not only seeking to make the Kremlin pay the price for its invasion. They are gradually freeing themselves from their dependence on Russian hydrocarbons. The quasi-embargo on oil decreed not without difficulty by the European Council for the end of this year marks a new stage, after the embargo on coal set for this August.

But these are also a point of no return. The alternatives, which involve diversifying supplies, increasing the share of renewable energies and reviewing our consumption patterns (see our video clip and our article on sufficiency), will not only eventually dry up the Russian energy rent but will also restructure our economic model to give Europeans their independence in this strategic area. On the condition that we do not substitute one dependency for another, such as the import of liquefied natural gas (LNG).

The same goes for defense. The German parliament is preparing to vote an unprecedented increase in its military budget, by creating a special fund of 100 billion euros, to make up for lost time. In many countries, national defence spending is rising sharply. In Europe, the time has come for rearmament. But here too, equipment and its subcontracting chain must not accentuate an already very strong American dependence.

This is why this European independence cannot be declared by one country alone, but must be built in the greatest possible unity. It is significant that the very Atlanticist Denmark now wants to join the Common European Defence and Security Policy, as was to be decided in a referendum held in that country on the 1st of June. Beyond the reaction to the war in Ukraine, industrial alliances are emerging to give Europe more autonomy in key technologies. These are the “important projects of common European interest”, which are being set up among several countries, on batteries, hydrogen, semiconductors, the cloud or even pharmaceuticals. Like vaccines during Covid, joint purchases of gas and arms are another way of acting as Europeans. The hoped-for creation of new own resources, guarantees of budgetary independence, will also contribute to this.

All of these initiatives, which have yet to be put into practice and to have their effects translated into reality, point to a certain power, which the European Union is in the process of developing. In order to move forward with the most active, it will not be able to avoid a debate on its governance and its institutions, which is also called for by its enlargement, the terms of which have already been radically changed by the war.

Read more →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

Infolettre Juin 2022

Guerre d’indépendance

| 03/06/2022

Édito Lire la suite →

Depuis bientôt cent jours, les Ukrainiens sont engagés dans une lutte à mort pour la survie de leur pays. L’Union européenne les soutient par l’envoi d’armes y compris lourdes, l’accueil de millions de déplacés, une assistance économique et financière, l’appui aux enquêtes criminelles et par des sanctions infligées comme jamais à l’agresseur, le régime de Vladimir Poutine. Ce faisant, les Vingt-Sept ne cherchent pas seulement à faire payer au Kremlin le prix de son invasion. Ils sont en train de s’affranchir progressivement de leur dépendance aux hydrocarbures russes. Le quasi-embargo sur le pétrole décrété non sans mal par le Conseil européen pour la fin de cette année en marque une nouvelle étape, après l’embargo sur le charbon.

Mais ceux-ci constituent aussi un point de non-retour. Les solutions de remplacement qui impliquent de diversifier les approvisionnements, augmenter la part des énergies renouvelables et revoir nos comportements de consommation (voir notre capsule-vidéo et notre article sur la sobriété), ne vont pas seulement assécher à terme la rente énergétique russe mais aussi restructurer notre modèle économique pour donner aux Européens leur indépendance dans ce domaine stratégique. A condition de ne pas substituer une dépendance à une autre, comme l’importation de gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL).

Idem en matière de défense. Le parlement  allemand s’apprête à voter une augmentation sans précédent de son budget militaire, par la création d’un fonds spécial de 100 milliards d’euros, pour combler son retard. Dans nombre d’Etats, les dépenses nationales de défense sont en nette hausse. L’heure en Europe est au réarmement. Mais ici aussi, les équipements et leur chaîne de sous-traitance ne doivent pas accentuer une dépendance déjà très américaine.

C’est pourquoi cette indépendance européenne ne peut être déclarée seule par un pays mais se construire dans la plus grande unité possible. Il est significatif que le très atlantiste Danemark veuille à présent rejoindre la politique européenne de défense et de sécurité commune, comme devait en décider un référendum dans ce pays organisé ce 1er juin. Au-delà de la réaction à la guerre en Ukraine, des alliances industrielles sont en train de voir le jour pour conférer à l’Europe plus d’autonomie dans des technologies-clés. Ce sont les « programmes importants d’intérêt européen commun », qui se nouent entre plusieurs pays, sur les batteries, l’hydrogène, les semi-conducteurs, le cloud ou encore en matière pharmaceutique. Comme les vaccins durant le Covid, les achats communs de gaz et d’armements se veulent encore une autre manière d’agir en Européens. La création espérée de nouvelles ressources propres, gages d’indépendance budgétaire, y participera aussi.

Toutes ces initiatives, qui restent à concrétiser et à traduire leurs effets, dessinent en pointillé une certaine puissance, dont l’Union européenne est en train de prendre le chemin. Pour avancer avec les plus allants, elle ne pourra faire l’économie d’un débat sur sa gouvernance et ses institutions, qu’appelle aussi son élargissement dont la guerre a déjà changé radicalement les termes.

Lire la suite →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more