Policy paper 237
 

The battle for Europe’s future: political cleavages and the balance of power ahead of the European Parliament elections

Thierry Chopin, special advisor at the Jacques Delors Institute, Nicolò Fraccaroli, PhD candidate in Economics at the University of Rome Tor Vergata, Nils Hernborg, Master student in International Economic Policy at Paris School of International Affairs, Sciences Po, and Jean-François Jamet author of several books and articles on European integration and the Economic and Monetary Union, highlight the forces at work in this campaign for the European elections.

|   26/04/2019             |   Thierry Chopin             |   Law and institutions
Policy paper

This paper investigates the practical implications of the political dividing lines (cleavages) and expected outcomes ahead of the European Parliament elections of 23-26 May 2019. These dynamics will determine the political balance and direction of the new European Parliament and European Commission for the next five years.
For this purpose, we first provide novel projections of the composition of the future European Parliament, both with and without the UK, as the UK’s participation remains unclear at this stage in view of the uncertainty surrounding Brexit. We then compare these projections to the current composition of the European Parliament, showing that the future Parliament will likely be more fragmented, less pro-European, and contain a larger number of anti-establishment right-wing Members of the European Parliament.
The composition of the future European Parliament is however only partially informative of the balance of power that will underpin European politics in the next legislative term. Future coalitions and majorities needed to appoint the European Commission and vote legislation will in fact depend on the dominant ideological cleavages. We hence analyse the evolution of cleavages in the European Union from a historical and political science perspective and outline their potential political consequences. Notably, changes in the political landscape could lead majorities to be based on cleavages related to societal values on selected topics. The latter may end-up reviving the left-right divide on policy choices related to salient issues such as immigration, compared to differences of views on European integration which are expected to underpin majorities on EU constitutional issues such as the coalition necessary to appoint the next European Commission.

Policy Paper 237
 

La bataille pour l’avenir de l’Europe : clivages politiques et équilibre des pouvoirs en amont des élections au Parlement européen

Thierry Chopin, conseiller spécial à l’Institut Jacques Delors, Nicolò Fraccaroli, doctorant en économie à l’Université Tor Vergata de Rome, Nils Hernborg, étudiant en master de politique économique internationale à l’École d’affaires internationales de Sciences Po (PSIA) et Jean-François Jamet, auteur de plusieurs ouvrages et articles sur l’intégration européenne et l’Union économique et monétaire, mettent l’accent sur les forces à l’œuvre dans cette campagne des élections européennes.

|   26/04/2019             |   Thierry Chopin             |   Droit et institutions
Policy Paper

Cet article étudie les implications pratiques des lignes de division politique (clivages) et les résultats attendus à la veille des élections au Parlement européen des 23-26 mai 2019. Ces dynamiques détermineront l’équilibre politique et la direction que suivront le Parlement européen fraîchement élu et la nouvelle Commission européenne pour les cinq années à venir.

À cet effet, nous présentons tout d’abord de nouvelles projections sur la composition du futur Parlement européen, avec et sans le Royaume-Uni, dans la mesure où sa participation n’est pas sûre à ce stade du fait de l’incertitude entourant le Brexit. Nous comparons ensuite ces projections à la composition actuelle du Parlement européen, montrant ainsi que le futur Parlement sera sans doute plus fragmenté, moins pro-européen et comptera davantage de députés européens d’extrême-droite contestataires.

La composition du futur Parlement européen n’est cependant que partiellement révélatrice de l’équilibre des pouvoirs qui sous-tendra la politique européenne durant la prochaine législature. Les futures coalitions et majorités nécessaires pour nommer la Commission européenne et voter les textes législatifs dépendront en fait des principaux clivages politiques. Nous analysons donc l’évolution de ces clivages dans l’Union européenne, non seulement du point de vue des sciences politiques mais aussi dans une perspective historique, et décrivons leurs éventuelles conséquences sur le plan politique. Des évolutions du paysage politique pourraient ainsi conduire les majorités à s’appuyer sur des clivages liés à des valeurs sociétales sur certaines questions. Ceux-ci pourraient aboutir à réactiver la division gauche-droite sur des choix politiques portant sur des enjeux cruciaux tels que l’immigration, et non plus sur des divergences d’opinions relatives à l’intégration européenne susceptibles de conforter les majorités sur des questions constitutionnelles européennes, telles que la coalition nécessaire pour nommer la nouvelle Commission européenne.