intervention  
 

San Sebastian, 12th September 2019 – The process of the UK withdrawing from the EU

12/09/2019 - 10:15 > 10:45
 
Elvire Fabry, Senior Research Fellow, trade policy and Brexit, Research Fellow on trade speaks at the conference organised by the Basque Government on the 12 September on "Consequences of Brexit in the political process of integration and its economic effects".

The decision to leave the European Union by the British people in a referendum on 23 June 2016 is undoubtedly one of the most shocking events in the European Union in recent years, putting us facing a scenario without precedent and in a context of political and economic uncertainty, leading to a complex negotiation process. While the future relationship could be based on models of agreements that the Union has signed with third countries, it will have to take into account the specific weight of the United Kingdom in the Union economy, as well as in other areas in which the UK EU membership has mattered over the years, such as the Erasmus+ programme or the European Research Area.

Elvire Fabry, Senior Research Fellow, trade policy and Brexit, has been invited by the University of the Basque Country to share her views on Brexit and foreseeable outcomes for EU-UK negotiations. For more information on this issue and potential impacts of Brexit on EU policies, we invite you to read the publication “Brexit: the Knowns amongst the Unknowns, for the UK, the EU and Third Countries, notably South Korea” (Elvire Fabry – 23/05/2019)

intervention  
 

San Sebastian, 12 septembre 2019 – La procédure de retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE

12/09/2019 - 10:15 > 10:45
 
Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior, en charge des politiques commerciales et du Brexit, intervient au cours d'une conférence organisée par l'Université du Pays Basque, sur "Les conséquences du Brexit sur le processus politique d'intégration et ses effets économiques"

La décision de quitter l’Union européenne du peuple britannique, le 23 juin 2016, est indubitablement un des événements les plus marquants de ces dernières années pour l’Union européenne, nous mettant dans une situation d’incertitude économique et politique sans précédent.  Alors que les futures relations entre l’UE et le Royaume-Uni pourraient être basées sur le modèle de celles engagées entre l’UE et d’autres pays tiers (comme la Norvège, la Suisse ou le Canada), elles devront nécessairement prendre en compte le poids important du Royaume-Uni dans le fonctionnement du marché intérieur, ainsi qu’au sein des programmes de recherche ou du programme Erasmus +.

Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior, en charge des politiques commerciales et du Brexit, a été invitée par l’Université du Pays Basque à s’exprimer et partager son analyse sur ces questions et les issues potentielles des négociations entre l’UE et le Royaume-Uni.  Pour plus d’informations sur l’impact du Brexit sur les politiques européennes, vous pouvez également prendre connaissance de la publication de l’Institut Jacques Delors : « Brexit : ce que l’on sait et les grandes inconnues pour le Royaume-Uni, l’UE et les pays tiers, notamment la Corée du Sud » (Elvire Fabry – 23/05/2019)