Team
Thierry Chopin
 
Special advisor
 

Thierry Chopin is a special advisor at the Jacques Delors Institute. He holds a doctorate in political science from the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) and obtained his habilitation to direct research (HDR) at the Paris Institute of Political Studies (Sciences Po).

Professor of Political Science at the Catholic University of Lille – ESPOL (European School of Political and Social Sciences), he is Visiting Professor at the College of Europe in Bruges and also teaches at Mines ParisTech. He taught at the Faculty of Law Jean-Monnet (Paris XI University), at the Joint Defense College (Ecole Militaire, Paris) and Sciences Po.

Before becoming Special Advisor to the Jacques Delors Institute, Thierry Chopin was Director of Studies at the Robert Schuman Foundation, Scientific Advisor at the Center for Strategic Analysis (now France Stratégie, a body reporting directly to the Prime Minister) and consultant to the Center for Analysis, Forecasting and Strategy (CAPS) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He has been an Associate Expert at Sciences Po (CERI) and Visiting Fellow at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), European Institute.

He is the author of several books and numerous articles on the European Union including: The political divide of Europe (Larcier, 2015); with Jean-François Jamet and Christian Lequesne, Europe after (Lignes de Repères, 2012); and, with Yves Bertoncini, European politics. States, powers and citizens of the European Union (Presses de Sciences Po-Dalloz, 2010). He co-directed, with Michel Foucher, between 2007 and 2018, the Schuman Report on Europe. The state of the Union.

Publications

Équipe
Thierry Chopin
 
Conseiller spécial
 

Thierry Chopin est conseiller spécial à l’Institut Jacques Delors. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences politiques de l’Ecole des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS) et a obtenu son habilitation à diriger des recherches (HDR) à l’Institut d’études politiques de Paris (Sciences Po).

Professeur de sciences politiques à l’Université catholique de Lille – ESPOL (Ecole européenne de sciences politiques et sociales), il est professeur invité au Collège d’Europe à Bruges et enseigne également à Mines ParisTech. Il a enseigné à la Faculté de droit Jean-Monnet (Université Paris XI), au Collège de la Défense commune (Ecole Militaire, Paris), au CNAM (Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers) et à Sciences Po.

Avant de devenir conseiller spécial de l’Institut Jacques Delors, Thierry Chopin a été directeur des études à la Fondation Robert Schuman, conseiller scientifique au Centre d’analyse stratégique (désormais France Stratégie, organisme relevant directement du Premier ministre) et consultant auprès du Centre pour les analyses stratégiques. Analyse, prévision et stratégie (CAPS) du ministère des Affaires étrangères. Il a été expert associé à Sciences Po (CERI) et chercheur invité à la London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) de l’Institut européen.

Il est l’auteur de plusieurs ouvrages et de nombreux articles sur l’Union européenne, notamment : Le clivage politique de l’Europe (Larcier, 2015) ; avec Jean-François Jamet et Christian Lequesne, Europe d’après (Lignes de Repères, 2012); et avec Yves Bertoncini, La politique européenne. États, puissances et citoyens de l’Union européenne (Presses de Sciences Po-Dalloz, 2010). Il a dirigé, avec Michel Foucher, entre 2007 et 2018, le rapport Schuman sur l’Europe. L’état de l’Union.