Policy paper 254
 

Combating poverty in Europe

MIXED RESULTS, NEW PROPOSALS

By Julien Damon, Associate Professor at Sciences Politiques, Scientific Advisor at the École nationale supérieure de sécurité sociale – National School for Social Security (En3s).

|   05/06/2020             |   Julien Damon             |   Labour and social affairs
Policy paper

Since the 1970s, the European Union has been elaborating definitions and data on poverty. The Member States have managed to gradually agree on guidelines to measure and to act. In the 2000s, the Lisbon Strategy provided new impetus, with the explicit ambition of moving towards eliminating poverty and in the 2010s, the Europe 2020 strategy set a quantified target of reducing the number of poor people (20 million less). The moment of truth for the first reviews and perspectives, coming at a time of a major health and economic crisis, makes it possible to review these indicators and intervention tools. This note supports two proposals. Firstly, in favour of concentrated efforts on extreme poverty and on the homeless. Secondly, for a truly European approach to assessing poverty, with a calculation threshold set at EU level.

Poverty is a growing priority on the EU agenda and in European law. Over time, the EU has become equipped with statistical tools and legal powers, but above all it has set itself an ambition. With hindsight, by exaggerating ever so slightly we could go so far as to say that since the beginning and the promise of prosperity inherent to the post-war construction of Europe, the theme of poverty has been implicitly European. Schuman’s call, for example, conveys this vision, from the point of view of solidarity. The common market and the opening of borders were designed for the benefit of all. It was not until the Treaty of Amsterdam (1997) however, that combating poverty became one of the powers of the EU, thus truly allowing it to act.

“The fight against poverty and social exclusion is one of the key commitments of the European Union and its Member States”. This statement, dating back to 2008, solemnly enshrines the importance of the topic for the EU, by announcing the European Year for Combating Poverty and Social Exclusion (2010). It should be noted from the outset that there are many possible distinctions between exclusion and poverty. According to the different interpretations, one may be a synonym, dimension or extension of the other. The European choice consists in considering income poverty (low income) as a unique but insufficient measurement of the phenomena of exclusion. The fact remains that all the dimensions of low income and limited capacities are very often encapsulated in the term “poverty” in non-specialised EU literature. ▪▪▪

Policy Paper 254
 

Lutte contre la pauvreté en Europe

BILAN MITIGÉ, PROPOSITIONS NOUVELLES

Par Julien Damon, Professeur associé à Sciences Po. Conseiller scientifique de l’École nationale supérieure de sécurité sociale (En3s).

|   05/06/2020             |   Julien Damon             |   Travail et affaires sociales
Policy Paper

Depuis les années 1970, l’Union européenne élabore définitions et données sur la pauvreté. Les États membres ont réussi à progressivement se mettre d’accord sur des principes pour mesurer et agir. Dans les années 2000, la stratégie de Lisbonne a donné une impulsion, avec l’ambition explicite d’aller vers l’élimination de la pauvreté. Dans les années 2010, la stratégie UE 2020 a fixé un objectif chiffré de réduction du nombre de pauvres (moins 20 millions). L’heure des premiers bilans et des perspectives, en période de crise sanitaire et économique majeure, permet de revenir sur ces indicateurs et sur les instruments d’intervention. Cette note soutient deux propositions. D’abord, en faveur d’une centration des efforts sur la pauvreté extrême et sur les sans-abri. Ensuite, pour une approche pleinement européenne de l’évaluation de la pauvreté, avec un seuil de calcul établi au niveau communautaire.
La pauvreté s’affirme sur l’agenda communautaire et dans le droit européen. L’Union se dote au fil du temps d’outils statistiques et de compétences juridiques, mais surtout d’une ambition. Rétrospectivement, en forçant un rien le trait, on pourrait aller jusqu’à dire que depuis l’origine et la promesse de prospérité inhérente à la construction communautaire d’après-guerre, le thème de la pauvreté est implicitement européen. L’appel de Schuman par exemple, relaie cette conception, sous l’angle premier de la solidarité. Marché commun et ouverture des frontières se conçoivent pour bénéficier à tous. Ce n’est, cependant, que depuis le Traité d’Amsterdam (1997) que la lutte contre la pauvreté fait partie des compétences de l’Union, l’autorisant véritablement à agir.

« La lutte contre la pauvreté et l’exclusion sociale constitue l’un des engagements forts de l’Union européenne et de ses États membres ». Cette affirmation, datant de 2008, scelle solennellement en annonçant l’Année européenne de lutte contre la pauvreté et l’exclusion sociale (2010), l’importance du sujet pour l’Union. Signalons d’emblée qu’il y a bien des distinctions possibles entre exclusion et pauvreté, l’une pouvant, selon les lectures, être synonyme, dimension ou extension de l’autre. Le choix européen consiste à considérer la pauvreté monétaire (la faiblesse des revenus) comme une mesure singulière mais insuffisante des phénomènes d’exclusion. Reste que toutes les dimensions de la faiblesse des ressources et des capacités sont très souvent, dans la littérature européenne non spécialisée, concentrée dans le vocable « pauvreté ».▪▪▪